Conference Information

The 2023 Classification Society Annual Meeting will be held between June 14 and June 17, 2023, in the Saunders building at the University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, NY, USA.

Confirmed speakers

  • Tanzy Love, University of Rochester
  • Gongjun Xu, University of Michigan
  • Matthias von Davier, Boston College
  • Steven Andrew Culpepper, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Chun Wang, University of Washington
  • Ji-Yeh Choi, York University
  • Seong-Hwan Jun, University of Rochester
  • Eric Lock, University of Minnesota
  • Cristina Molero del Rio, LIX 

Abstract Submission

Abstract Submission Deadline - March 31, 2023

  • Max. file size: 50 MB.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


The abstract submission deadline for the 2023 Classification Society Annual Meeting is March 31, 2023. Please submit your abstract using the abstract submission form on the 2023 meeting page ( When submitting your abstract, please indicate whether you want to be considered for a poster or oral presentation. If you are a bachelors, masters, or doctoral student, you can apply for the oral or poster student presentation award by answering `Yes' to the question `Would you like to be considered for a student presentation award?'

This year, the classification society will offer two new awards to student presenters: an oral presentation award and a poster presentation award. These awards are open to any bachelors, masters, or doctoral student presenting at the meeting.

Meeting Organizers

  • Frieder Koehn

  • Chia-Yi Chiu

  • Andrews

    Jeff Andrews

  • Tanzy Love

    Tanzy Love

Previous Meetings

2022 Annual Meeting

June 15, 2022

The 2022 Classification Society annual meeting was the first full length meeting of the Classification Society since June 2019. The meeting was organized by Xu (Sunny) Wang at Wilfrid Laurier University. The 2022 meeting featured a complete program that included 3 contributed speaker sessions, 3 invited speaker sessions, a student poster session, and multiple invited lectures and sessions. Highlights of the event included the President’s invited address given by Paul McNicholas (McMaster University) which discussed model-based clustering approaches for multivariate longitudinal data, approaches for 3-way data that do not assume normality, and an approach for 3-way data that are high dimensional. The invited address given by Daniel Aloise (École Polytechnique de Montréal) who discussed a method to provide scores to must-link and cannot-link constraints that are beneficial in semi-supervised classification. The invited session on Psychometric Methodology featuring Hans Friedrich Koehn (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) and Kim de Roover (Tilburg University) that discussed and gave examples of the value of classification methodology within psychological research. The invited session on advances in model-based clustering approaches featuring Alex Sharp (University of Waterloo), Jeff Andrews (University of British Columbia | Okanagan Campus), and Rebecca Nugent (Carnegie Mellon University) that covered topics in model development, model assessment, and applications to education data. The invited session on applications in biostatistics featuring Lucy Gao (University of British Columbia) that discussed inference for hierarchical clustering. And three invited sessions celebrating the accomplishments of outstanding doctoral students studying clustering, classification, or related areas of data analysis, encompassing associated theory and/or applications. Usually, each meeting of the Classification Society features the winner of that years distinguished dissertation award ( However, due to the travel restrictions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2022 annual meeting featured the winners of the 2020, 2021, and 2022 competitions. The three winners were Keefe Murphy (Maynooth University), Michael Gallaugher (Baylor University), and Francesco Sanna Passino (Imperial College London), respectively. In these sessions, a variety of different topics were discussed e.g., the development of families of parsimonious models for model-based clustering, bi-clustering, and model selection in spectral graph clustering.

2021 Annual Meeting

November 5, 2021

The 2021 annual meeting of The Classification Society was held at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, PA, from Friday, November 5 to Sunday, November 7, 2021. The meeting was organized by the president of The Classification Society, Abby Flynt. The scientific programming committee was comprised of Abby Flynt (chair), Brian Franczak, Meredith Wallace, and Tanzy Love.

On Friday evening, the CS annual meeting kicked off with welcoming remarks from the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, Karl Voss and the CS poster session featuring Yida Chen, Jiawan Zhao and Abby Flynt from Bucknell University, Ji Ah Lee and Harsh Vardham Dubey (University of Masschusetts Amherst), Hung Tong (University of Alabama), and Brian Franczak (MacEwan University). Saturday featured a full day of presentations that included the President’s invited address on the influence of statistical machine learning in informing admissions into American colleges given by David Hunter (Penn State University), two talks on applications in clustering and classification given by David Banks (Duke University) and Rachael Hageman (University of Buffalo), an invited lecture on Geometric Morphometrics given by F. James Rohlf (Stony Brook University), an invited lecture on dependent Bayesian nonparametric modeling of compositional data by Andres Felipe Barrientos (Florida State University), and three contributed talks by Tanzy Love (University of Rochester), Michael Kane (Yale School of Public Policy), and Meredith Wallace (University of Pittsburgh). Sunday featured a half day of talks that included three invited talks on Classification and Psychometric Methodology given by Samrachana Adhikari (NYU School of Medicine), Teague Henry (University of Virginia), and Susu Zhang (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) and three contributed talks by Cristina Tortora (San Jose State University), Thiago Serra (Bucknell University), and Brian Franczak (MacEwan University).

Join Us

Become a member and contribute new ideas

Close Popup

Purchase Ticket:

Tickets for this event are not available at this time.